2019 Chicago Quantum Exchange Member and Partner Workshop

CQE members and corporate partners are welcome to join a CQE-wide workshop on October 24, 2019. The workshop will share existing research being done across our institutions and brainstorm opportunities for collaboration between universities, national laboratories, and key companies in quantum information science.


Thursday, October 24, 2019
University of Chicago, ERC, 161, 5640 S Ellis Ave, Chicago, IL 60637

Workshop Agenda


8:15–8:50 AM Registration and Breakfast
8:50–9:00 AM Welcome
9:00–9:25 AM Supratik Guha, Staff Scientist, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Argonne National Laboratory and Professor of Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago and Xuedan Ma, Assistant Scientist, Nanoscience, Argonne National Laboratory 
9:25–9:50 AM Jason Orcutt, Physical Sciences Research Staff Member, IBM Research 
9:50–10:15 AM Farah Fahim, Deputy Head, Quantum Science Program, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory 
10:15–10:30 AM Break
10:30–10:55 AM Thaddeus Ladd, Senior Research Scientist, HRL Laboratories
10:55–11:20 AM David Awschalom, Liew Family Professor of Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago; Senior Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory; Director of the Chicago Quantum Exchange and Giulia Galli, Liew Family Professor of Molecular Engineering and Professor of Chemistry, University of Chicago; Senior Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory; Director Midwest Integrated Center for Computational Materials 
11:20 AM–11:45 AM Robert Visser, Managing Director, Advanced Chemistry and Materials, Advanced Technology Group, Applied Materials, Inc. 
11:45 AM –1:00 PM Lunch and CQE Member Research Poster Session
1:00–1:25 PM Matt Reagor, Director of Engineering, Rigetti Computing  
1:25–1:50 PM Brian DeMarco, Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Virginia Lorenz, Associate Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1:50–2:15 PM Tim Rambo, Scientist, Quantum Opus 
2:15–2:40 PM Danna Freedman, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University and Prem Kumar, Professor, ECE & Physics, Northwestern University 
2:40–2:55 PM Break
2:55–3:20 PM Robert Williamson, Vice President Business Development, ColdQuanta 
3:20–3:45 PM Mark Saffman, Professor, Department of Physics, University of Wisconsin – Madison 
3:45–4:10 PM Jay Lowell, Chief Engineer Disruptive Computing & Networks and Senior Technical Fellow, Boeing
4:10–5:10 PM Reception

Buses will be available outside of Eckhardt Research Center to shuttle attendees to and from the public event. Buses will depart at 4:45 and 5:15 p.m. Contact with any questions.